TOWNSHIP OF NORTH BRUNSWICK
710 HERMANN ROAD ’
NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ 08902

Tel.: (732) 247-0922, ext.470
Fax: (732)-745-0976
Website: WWW.NORTHBRUNSWICKONLINE.COM

ENTERING INTO A MARRIAGE OR CIVIL UNION IN NEW JERSEY
ENTRAR EN UN CASAMIENTO O UNION CIVIL EN NUEVA JERSEY

If you are entering into a Marriage or Civil Union in New Jersey, ‘you will find information
in this brochure which will be helpful to you. Read it carefully, if you have any questions,
please contact your local Registrar of Vital Statistics. A list of local Registrars is available

at: www.nj.gov/health/vital/regbyenty.shtml

Si usted entra en un Casamiento o la Unién Civil en Nueva Jersey, usted encontrard
informacién en este folleto que ser4 itil a usted. Leer con cuidado, si usted tiene cualquier
pregunta, contacta por favor a su Registrador local de la Estadistica Esencial. Una lista de
Registradores locales estd disponible en: www.nj.gov/health/vital/regbyenty.shtml

Where should you apply for a marriage or civil union license?

;Donde debe solicitar usted un casamiento o la licencia civil de la unién?

The marriage or civil union license must be obtained from the registrar in the New Jersey
municipality in which either applicant resides, if one or both is resident of New Jersey. (For these
purposes, soldiers are residents of the posts at which they are stationed.) A license issued under
the preceding circumstances is good for use anywhere in the State of New Jersey.

If both parties are not residents of New Jersey, the license must be obtained from the Registrar of
the municipality where the ceremony is to be preformed and is only good for usé in the
municipality.

El casamiento o la licencia civil de la unién deben ser obtenidos del registrador en el
municipio de Nueva Jersey en el que solicitante reside, si uno 0 ambos son residentes de
Nueva Jersey. (Para estos fines, los soldados son residentes de los postes en que ellos son
estacionados). Una licencia publicada bajo las circunstancias anteriores es buena para el
uso dondequiera en el Estado de Nueva Jersey. Si ambos partidos no son residentes de
Nueva Jersey, la licencia debe ser obtenida del Registrador del municipio dende la
ceremonia es de ser preformado y es sélo bueno para el uso en el municipio.

A New Jersey marriage or civil union license may never be used outside of the State of New
Jersey and a licénse issued in another state may never be used within the State of New
Jersey.

Un casamiento de Nueva Jersey o la licencia civil de 1a unién nunca pueden ser utilizados
fuera del Estado de Nueva Jersey y una licencia publicades en otro estado nunca puede ser

_ utilizado dentro del Estade de Nueva Jersey.

Be sure to contact the Registrar well in advance of the ceremony‘ to find out on what days and
during what hours the Registrar will be in the office. The marriage or civil unien license fee is
$28.00

Esté seguro contactar al Registrador bien en avance de la ceremonia para averiguar en qué
dias y durante qué horas que el Registrador estara en la oficina. El casamiento o Unién
Civil licencia honerario son $28.00




Who can perform a marriage or civil union ceremony? ,
(Quién puede realizar un casamiento o la ceremonia civil de la unién?

Each judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, each judge of a Federal
District Court, United States magistrate, judge of Municipal Court, judge of Superior Court,
Judge of Tax Coutt, the former County Court, the former County Juvenile and Domestic
Relations Court, or the former County District Court who has resigned in good standing,
surrogate of any county, county clerk and any Mayor or the Deputy Mayor when authorized by
the Mayor, or Chairman of any township committee or village president of this State and every
minister of every religion, are hereby authorized to solemnize marriages or civil unions between
such persons may lawfully enter into the matrimonial relation or civil union; and every religious
society, institution or organization in this State may join together in marriage or civil union such
persons according to the rules and customs of the society, institution or orgamzauon (Title 37:1-
13).

Cada juez de la Audiencia de Estades Unidos para ¢l Tercer Clrculto, cada juez de un
Tribunal de distrito Federal, magistrade de Estados Unides, el juez del Tribunal Municipal,
el juez del Tribunal Superior, el Juez de Tasa el Tribunal, el Joven anterior de Condado y
Tribunal Doméstice de Relaciones, o el Tribunal de distrite anterior de Condade que ha
renunciado en la posicién buena, sustituto de cualquier condado, de empleado de condado y
cualquier Alcalde o del Alealde de Diputado cuando autorizade por el Alcalde, o por el
Presidente de cualquier comité de municipio o presidente de aldea de este Estade y cada-
ministro de cada religién, Por la presente son autorizados a solemnizar los casamientes o las
uniones civiles enire tales personas pueden entrar licitamente en la relacién matrimonial o
la unién civil; y cada sociedad religiosa, 1a institucién o la organizacién en este Estado
pueden unir juntos en casamiento o unién civil tales personas segiin las reglas y la aduana
de la sociedad, la institucién o la organizacién. (Title 37:1-13).

When should you apply for a marriage or civil union license?
¢Cuénde debe solicitar usted un ca‘samiento o la licencia civil de la unién?

A local Registrar will not issue a marriage or c1v11 union license sooner than 72 hours after the
apphcatlon for a license has been made, unless ordered to do so via a Superior Court order. If the
ceremony is scheduled for a Saturday or Sunday, the application should be made no later than the
preceding Tuesday. If the application is made on a Wednesday or Thursday, the 72 hours will end
on Saturday or Sunday, but the Registrar will probably not be available on those days or any
public holiday. If both parties are unavailable to complete the application at the same time, wither
applicant may complete his/her part of the application and start the waiting period. The other
applicant must return with the same witness (wWho must be at least 18 years old) to complete
his/her part of the application.

Un Registrador lecal no publicars un casamiento ni la liceneia civil de la unién més pronto
que 72 horas después de que la aplicacién para una licencia haya sido hecha, a menos que
ordenara hacer asi via un mandato judicial Superior. Si la ceremonia es planificada para un
el sdbado e el demingo, Ia aplicacién debe ser hecha no luege que el el martes. Sila
aplicacién es hecha en un el miércoles o el jueves, las 72 horas terminardn el sibado o el
domingo, pero el Registrador prebablemente no estardn disponibles en esos dias o ninguna
fiestas oficiales. Si ambos partides estan indisponibles completar la aplicacién al mismo
tiempe, marchita a selicitante puede completar su'parte de la aplicacién y empezar el
periodo que espera. El otro solicitante debe volver con el mismo testigo (que debe ser por lo
menos de 18 aiios de edad) completar su parte de la aplicacién.




The application should be completed for both parties before the license will be published.
The application is valid for six months of the date filed.

La aplicacién debe ser completada por ambes partidos antes la licencia serd publicada. La
aplicacién es valido por seis meses de la fecha archivada.

Once the license is issued, it is good for 30 days from the date of issuance. A .couple wishing to
have both religious and civil ceremonies may be issued a license for both ceremonies on the basis
of a single application. However, a couple wishing two religious ceremonies, and wanting to
have a public record of each, may not have two licenses issued at the same time. They must
apply forand use the first license. They must then return to the Registrar with the sighed onglnal
certificate and a witness to apply for a remarriage or reaffirmation of civil union license.

Una vez que la licencia es publicada, es buene durante 30 dias de la fecha de emisién. Una
JPpareja que desea tener ambas ceremonias religiesas y civiles pueden ser publicadas una
licencia para ambas ceremonias por una sola aplicacién. Sin embargo, una pareja que desea
dos ceremonias religiosas y queriende tener un registroe piiblico de cada no puede tener dos
licencias a mismo tiempo. EHos deben selicitar y utilizar la primera licencia. Ellos deben
volver al Registrador con el certificade original firmadoe y un testige para selicitar el
segundo casamiento o la reiteracién de la licencia unién civil

What should you bring with you when you apply?
. Qué debe traer con usted cuando usted aplica?

" Each applicant must supply valid identification that establishes name, age, date of birth and proof
of residency. This may be supplied by one or more documents issued by a government agency,
such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, military identification, passport or
state/county identification card.

If one or both applicants are divorced, have had aprevious civil union dissolved or previous
domestic partnership terminated; you should bring a copy of the final legal decree(s) for
examination by the Registrar or a statement by the judge as to when the final decree(s) was
signeéd (not the date of the final hearing). If one or both of the applicants have had a marriage

* legally annulled, please bring the annuiment documents. Both applicants will need to provide

their Social Security Numbers (Tn:le 37:1-17)
"If one or both apphcants were in a previous marriage, civil union or domestic partnership where
the previous partner is deceased you should bring a certified copy of the death certificate.

A witness 18 years of age or older.

The $28 application fee.

Consent of both parents is necessary if an applicant is under 18 years of age. Both parental
consent and judicial approval of such consent are necessary if the applicant is younger then 16.
These consents must be on forms supplied by the Registrar.

Cada solicitante debe suministrar identificacién vilida que establece ¢l nombre, la edad, la
fecha del nacimiento y la prueba de la residencia. Esto puede ser suministrado por uno o
ma4s documentos publicados por una agencia del gobierno, tal como una copia certificada de
un certificado de nacimiento, el licencia de conducir, 1dentlﬁcac16n militar, el pasaporteo
tarjeta de identificacién de estado/condado.

Si uno o ambes selicitantes son divorciades, han tenido una unién civil previa la aseciacién
disuelta o previa doméstica pareja terminada; usted debe traer una copia del final legal
para el examen por el Registrador o una declaracién por el juez en cuanto a cuande el final
fue firmado (no la fecha de la vista finaj). Si uno o ambos de los solicitantes han tenide un
casamiento legalmente anulado, trae por favor los documentos de anulacién. Ambos
solicitantes necesitardn Nimeros del seguro social




Si uno o ambes selicitantes estuvieron en un casamiento previo, la unién- civil o la asociacién
domgéstica donde el socie previo es fallecidoe usted debe traer una copia certificada del
certificade de defuncién. _
Un testige 18 afios de Ia edad o mas viejo.
El pago de $28 para la aplicacién. :
El consentimiento de ambes padres es necesario si un solicitante est bajo 18 afies de la
edad. Ambos consentimiento paternal y la aprobacion judicial de tal consentimiento son .
necesarios si el solicitante es mas joven entonces 16. Estos consentimientos deben estar en
' formas suministradas por el Registrador.

Where should the marriage or civil union record be filed?
;Dénde deben registrar el casamiento o unién civil son archivados?

The person performing the ceremony must file the licénse and certificate with the Registrar of the
municipality in which the ceremony was preformed. Since failure to record the certificate may
cause considerable inconvenience at a later date when proof of certificate is needed, you should
make sure that this has been done.

Certified copies of the matriage or civil union event may be obtained from the local Registrar in
the municipality where the ceremony occurred or from the State Bureau of Vital Statistics and
Registration.

La persona que realiza la ceremonia debe archivar la licencia y el certificado con el
Registrador del municipio en el que la ceremonia fue preformado. Desde que el fracaso
para registrar el certificado puede causar el inconveniente en una fecha posterior cuindo
prueba de certificado es necesitada, usted debe cerciorarse que esto ha side hecho.

Las copias certificadas del-casamiento o el acontecimiento civil unién pueden ser obtenidas
del Registrador local en el municipio donde la ceremonia ocurrié o de la Oficina del Estado
de la Estadistica y la Matricula Esenciales
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New:Jersey Department of

Health and-Senior-Services' -

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE

[ IMARRIAGE [IREMARRIAGE'

JCIVIL UNION: «

(1 REAFFIRMATION OF CIVIL UNION

(PLEASE PRINTOR TYPE)

DECLARATION OF APPLICANT A
(Giving false information constitutes perjury.)

DECLARATION:OF APPLICANT-B
(Giving false informationconstitutes perjury.)

1. Name (First, Middie, Last) (List name given.at birth-or on birth certificate)

1. Name-(First, Middle, Last)-(List name given at birth-or on birth-certificate)

Street Address (Current Legal Residence).(City, Borough, Twp.) (See Note 1)

Street Address (Current.Legal:Residence).(City, Borough, Twp.) (See Note:1)

Union Partner
For Remarriage to the same spouse, or Reaffirmation of Civil Union to the
same partner, enter date and place of original ceremony:

Date

Place
[OMarriage
[Icivil Union

County (See Note 4) State Zip Code County(See Note 4) .- State .. Zip Code
1a. Current Name (if different) 2. Date of Birth 1a. Current-Name:(if-differént) 2. Date of Birth
3. Birthplace Ta Sex © 5. Age(See Note 2}|3. Birthplace::. T4, Sex~ 5. Age(See Note 2)

OM O O OF
6. Domestic Status (at this timé) :(Séé Notes 3-and 5) 6. Domestic:Status (at this time) (See Notes:3 and:5)
Date Place. . Date - Place

[CIsingle [Osingle .

Iwidowed [Cwidowed:ar

[pivorced [oiverced. -

CJAnnulled [CJAnnulled

[Icurrent Domestic [JCurrent Domestic

Partner Partner

[JFormer Domestic [CJFormer Domestic

Partner Pariner
[JFormer Civil [(CJFormer Civit

Union Partner
For Remarriage to the same spouse, or Reaffirmation of Civil Union to the
same partner, enter date and place of original ceremony:

Date

Place
[CMarriage
CIcivit Union

7a. For Marriage License
Applicants: Enter number
of times ever Married (if
applicable):

7b. Name of Most Recent Spouse (if any)
(List name given at birth or on birth certificate}:

[7a. For Marriage License

7b. Name of Most Recent Spouse (if any)
Applicants: Enter number (List name given at birth or on birth certificate):
of times ever Married (if

applicable):

8a. For Civil Union Applicants:
Enter number of times ever
in a Civil Union if

8b. Name of Most Recent Civil Union Partner (if any)
(List name given at birth or on birth certificate):

8a. For Civil Union Applicants:
Enter number of times ever
in a Civil Union if

8b. Name of Most Recent Civil Union Partner (if any)
(List name given at birth or on birth certificate):

If “YES,” how?

applicable): applicable):-:
9a. Father’s Full Name 9b. Birthplace 9a. Father's Full Name 9b. Birthplace
10a. Mother's Fuil Maiden Name 10b. Birthplace 10a. Mother's.Full Maiden:Name: »- 10b.Birthplace
11. Are you related to Applicant B? [Yes [CINo 11. Are you related:o-Applicant:A? - [Jyes: [INo

If “YES,” how?:::

INFORMATION TO BE COMPLETED BY E/THER/APPLICANT: <"

12. In which Incorporated Municipality in New Jersey do you intend for the ceremony
to be performed? (See Note 4)

‘."114.Telephone Number where either-
applicant:can.now be reached:

73 Intended Date-of Ceremony. .-

15.Name and mailing address of person who is to perform the ceremony:

16. Mailing Addresswhereyou rﬁay be reached "'aft'ér» the Vce(remony:

(See Notes on Page 2)
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Continue with-Declaration-of Identifying Witness -and:Qath:




UPON COMPLETION, APPLICATION IS TO BE RETAINED AS A PERMANENT RECORD.
DECLARATION OF IDENTIFYING WITNESS

(Giving false information constitutes perjury)
1. Name (First, Middle, Last):

Street Address:

City, Borough, Township:

County: State: Zip Code:
2. Have the applicants correctly stated their ages and usual residences? I:lYes I:INo
3. Did the applicants make you aware of any legal impediment to their

marriage / remarriage / civil union / reaffirmation of civil union? Clves No

if “Yes, “ explain:

OATH OR AFFIRMATION OF APPLICANTS AND IDENTIFYING WITNESS

NOTE TO REGISTRAR - Applicants and witness should be told that taking a false oath constitutes perjury, which is punishable by a
maximum fine of $7,500.00. In any case where application is made by only one applicant to begin the waiting period, the same
identifying witness must return when the second applicant completes the application. In such a case the same witness must sign
once again on the line below that on which he/she signed when appearing with the first applicant.

We, who have hereunder signed our names, do solemnly swear (or affirm) that we are not currently ruled mentally
incompetent, the answers given by us in this application for a marriage, remarriage, civil union, or reaffirmation of civil union
license are true, full and perfect answers to each and all of said questions.

Signature of Applicant A: Date:
Signature of Applicant B: Date:
Signature of Witness: Date:

Second Signature of
Witness (if necessary): ’ Date:

Sworn (or affirmed) and subscribed before me at

this day of , 20 at AM PM
Signature of Registrar:

REGISTRAR - DO NOT insert place and date of ceremony or file the application until either the completed certificate or copy
thereof is sent to you. Follow-up on all licenses for completion.

License Number: Date of Issue:

Ceremony Performed in (City, Borough, Twp.):

Date of Ceremony:

NOTE 1. This is the permanent home and principal establishment to affidavit showing the place and date of the common law marriage
which, when absent, the applicant intends to return. contract. The place and date of the previous marriage or civil union
NOTE 2. Written consent of both parents is required for the marriage should be stated on both the application and the license. The
. or civil union of any person under eighteen years of age. In addition, seventy-two hour waiting period is waived. Consent of parents is
if any person is under sixteen, the consent of the parents must be required for the remarriage.or reafﬁrm_atioq of a civil union of a mingr
approved in writing by a judge of the Superior Court, Chancery previously joined in a marriage or civil union to the same partner in
Division, Family Part. Consent of parents is required for the another state.
remarriage or reaffirmation of civil union of a minor previously married NOTE 4. |f both applicants are nonresidents of New Jersey, the
or joined in a civil union to the same partner in another state. application must be made in the municipality where the ceremony will
NOTE 3. When a remarriage or reaffirmation of civil union license is be performed. Registrar should mark the license accordingly.
requested, indicate in Question 6 that the parties are already married NOTE 5. The Registrar’s review of a divorce decree, dissolution of
or joined in a civil union. It is required that proof of the previous Civil Union, or termination of Domestic Partnership, submitted with
marriage or civil union.be submitted to you. Common law marriages, this application, in no way implies the validity of the submiited
which were legal prior to December 1, 1939, must be established by document. Such determination can only be made by a court of law.

Social Security Numbers shall be kept confidential and may only be released for child support purposes
and shall not be considered a public record pursuant to P. L. 1963, C.73 (C.47:1A-1 et seq.)






