Zoning Board of Adjustment


The Zoning Board is the board of “non-permitted uses.” That is, zoning boards deal with the issuance of variances, which are based on the township’s zoning ordinances. These zoning ordinances establish specific requirements for a land area within the township and regulates not only the uses permitted, but also the size of the parcels, setbacks required, parking, signage, conditional uses, and various other regulations.

An applicant must meet specific criteria contained in the Municipal Land Use Law by satisfying certain legal standards of proof, and the burden is on the applicant to show that he/she is entitled to the specific relief requested. Merely making application and paying the required fees is not sufficient.

Board Members are appointed by the Council and serve staggered four year terms. Alternates serve two years.

Zoning Board meetings are currently held on the third Tuesday of the month virtually via Go To Meeting at 7 p.m.

For more information, please contact Kristen Olcsvay in the Community Development Department at 732-247-0922, ext. 440.

Board Members

Chadd Heyman
Jonathan Wright
Vice Chairman
Joe Policastro
Brian Goldenfarb
Matthew Almeida
Joseph Scaturro
Kyla Mallette
Gangadhara Vakkalagadda
Alternate #1
Jessica Musleh
Alternate #2
Kristen Olcsvay
Board Secretary
Sal Profaci
Zoning Officer


Charles Carley, PE
Board Engineer (Delaware-Raritan Engineering, Inc.)

200 Daniels Way, Suite 230
Freehold, New Jersey