Chapter 266-10, “Rental Housing” of the Code of the Township of North Brunswick, requires every landlord to register with the Department of Community Development every three (3) years on October 1st. Landlord registrations shall expire on the third September 30th following their filing.
A fee of $30 shall accompany each certificate of registration for each rental property (one fee per property, not per rental unit) along with newly required insurance and lead paint certifications as detailed below.
New Landlord Registration Requirements
The State of New Jersey has adopted two (2) new laws that require municipalities to enforce regulations for landlords who maintain rental properties. Landlords are now required by these new laws to:
▪ Maintain certain liability insurance policies.
▪ Provide a valid lead-free certification for all homes built during
or prior to 1978.
The Township of North Brunswick will begin to enforce these new registration requirements effective January 1, 2023.
All property owners who seek to register as landlords, all landlords who are renewing their registrations, and all landlords who seek a rental inspection at a change of tenancy, must comply with these new regulations and submit both certifications to the township as the State of New Jersey now requires by law.
Property owners should consult with an insurance professional and
or a lead-based paint evaluation contractor as required to satisfy these new registration requirements.
NEW LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR ALL RENTAL PROPERTIES
The owner of a rental unit or multi-family home which is four or fewer units, one of which is owner-occupied, shall annually provide to the township a certificate of insurance that maintains liability insurance in an amount of no less than $300,000 for combined property damage and bodily injury to or death of one or more persons in any one accident or occurrence.
Otherwise, the owner of a rental unit or multi-family home shall annually provide to the township a certificate of insurance that maintains liability insurance in an amount of no less than $500,000 for combined property damage and bodily injury to or death of one or more persons in any one accident or occurrence.
A valid certificate of insurance must be submitted at the time of submitting a landlord registration or renewal, or seeking a rental inspection for a change of tenancy.
NEW LANDLORD VALID LEAD-SAFE CERTICIATION REQUIREMENTS PURSUANT TO STATE OF NEW JERSEY P.L. 2021, CHAPTER 182
All landlords of single family, two-family, and multi-family homes constructed prior to 1978 are required to provide to the township a valid lead-safe certification affirming the absence of lead-based paint hazards. The lead evaluation contractor must be certified to provide lead paint inspection services by the NJ Department of Community Affairs.
A valid lead-safe certification must be submitted at the time of submitting a landlord registration or renewal, or seeking a rental inspection for a change of tenancy.
A state issued list of certified lead abatement contractors can be found here:
If a lead evaluation contractor finds that a lead-based paint hazard exists in a dwelling unit upon conducting an inspection, then the owner of the dwelling unit shall remediate the lead-based paint hazard by using abatement or lead-based paint hazard control methods, approved in accordance with the provisions of the “Lead Hazard Control
Assistance Act,” P.L.2003, c.311 (C.52:27D-437.1 et al.). Upon the remediation of the lead-based paint hazard, the lead evaluation contractor or permanent local agency shall conduct an additional inspection of the unit to certify that the hazard no longer
exists and then provide that certification to the township.