Search Recreation
Search Public Works
Search - Content
Department of Community Development
Division of Zoning & Code Enforcement

          Zoning Board of Adjustment

The Zoning Board is the board of "non-permitted uses." That is, zoning boards deal with the issuance of variances, which are based on the township's zoning ordinances. These zoning ordinances establish specific requirements for a land area within the towship and regulates not only the uses permitted, but also the size of the parcels, setbacks required, parking, signage, conditional uses, and various other regulations.

An applicant must meet specific criteria contained in the Municipal Land Use Law by satisfying certain legal standards of proof, and the burden is on the applicant to show that he/she is entitled to the specific relief requested. Merely making application and paying the required fees is not sufficient.

Board Members are appointed by the Council and serve staggered four year terms. Alternates serve two years.

Zoning Board meetings at the municipal building are normally held the third Tuesday of the month with workshop meetings at 6:00 pm and public meetings at 7:00 PM.

For more information, please contact Kristen Olcsvay in the Community Development Department at 732-247-0922 extension 440.

Zoning Board Members

Mark McGrath, Chairman
Joe Policastro, Vice Chairman
Thomas Abode, Member
Patrick Guadagnino, Member
Chadd Heyman, Member
Susan Malvone, Member
Jonathan Wright, Member
Stanford Baddley, Alternate #1
Mary Hutchinson, Alternate #2
Kristen Olcsvay, Board Secretary

Andrei Alexeev, Zoning Officer, Municipal Representative

Lawrence Sachs, Esq.
Board Attorney
8G Auer Court
Williamsburg Commons
East Brunswick, NJ 08816

Charles Carley, PE
Board Engineer
Delaware-Raritan Engineering, Inc.
200 Daniels Way, Suite 230
Freehold, NJ 07728

Andrei Alexeev
Zoning Officer
710 Hermann Road
North Brunswick, NJ 08902
732-247-0922, ext. 440
Kristen Olcsvay
Zoning Board Secretary
Div. Staff